Disable Chrome confirmations for opening magnet links of torrents


How annoying this Chrome feature or rather defect, popping up all those confirmation prompts for magnet links, instead of letting you decide to have the browser remember your choice and always open these links with the associated torrent client.

A user, I found out, and I guess more desperate users resorted to the same solution, even downgraded Chrome in order to get back the freedom of deciding a default action! Downgrades are not recommended, not only for security reasons but because sooner you will miss features and extensions.

Here is what you can do to get rid of Chrome’s problem. You can do it manually or download a small zipped script to let it do it for you automatically. Note that you have to repeat it each time you clear your browsing history, if you clear it, that is.

First close Chrome if it is running. Then go to C:\Users\YourAccount\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default\ and locate the file called Preferences. Open this file in any simple text editor such as your Notepad, and before the final bracket add this line (including the comma):

,"protocol_handler":{"excluded_schemes":{"magnet":false}}

Save the Preferences file, then run again Chrome and enjoy! If you don’t trust yourself to edit the Preferences file, or just for convenience, just get this script, run it and enjoy!